THE Scottish music industry gathered at The Garage in Glasgow last Thursday night to celebrate the best alternative music the country has to offer in a memorable night of prize-giving and live music.

Kicking off with an energetic set from Paisley up and comers BooHooHoo, new music champion Jim Gellatly hosted the event which celebrated its eighth edition in style. A night designed to showcase some of Scotland’s best underground talent, surf-pop outfit The Van Ts beat off tough competition to win the prestigious Best Live Act with the prize presented by the event’s main sponsors Rebel Rebel Barbers. Elsewhere, Kirkcaldy group Shambolics were awarded Best Rock act while Tiberius won Best Metal, Edinburgh three-piece Stillhound won Best Electronic and Kid Robotik were handed the award for Best Hip-Hop.

Following a hugely successful 2017 that has seen him receive acclaim from all corners of the industry and rise to the forefront of Scotland’s music scene, it was no surprise to see Lewis Capaldi win Best Acoustic. Meanwhile,a band who have blown us away with their high octane, thunderous live shows, fuzz-pop three-piece Shredd won best newcomers.

In amongst the prize-giving, the busy crowd were treated to a thunderous performance from Holy Mountain before Glasgow band WHITE brought the night to an end with a thrilling performance that showcased some of the best material from their debut album One Night Stand Forever, out earlier this year. Tearing through electric renditions of ‘One Night Stand Forever’, ‘Sweat’ and ‘Be The Unknown’, the band finished their set with old favourite ‘Future Pleasures’.

SAMAs founder and organiser Richy Muirhead said of the night: “The ceremony was a great celebration of Scottish music, you could really feel the energy in the room from the start to the end! The live lineup and 2017 nominations showcase the wealth of talent in Scotland across multiple genres. Congratulations to all nominees and winners from everyone at the SAMAs!”

Now 0ne of the most highly anticipated events in the Scottish musical calendar, it was another triumphant year for the SAMAS which shone a light on the wealth of talent currently emerging from our thriving music scene. Check out the full list of winners and nominees below.

Best Rock/Alternative sponsored by Eventbrite UK
Pure Grief
Medicine Men

Best Newcomer sponsored by The Academy of Music and Sound
Jutland Songs

Best Hip Hop sponsored by Boyd Digital
Kid Robotik
Asthmatic Astronaut

Best Electronic sponsored by citizenM
Illyus & Barrientos
Sam Gellaitry
Golden Teacher

Best Acoustic sponsored by Assai UK
Siobhan Wilson
Callum Beattie
Gus Harrower
Lewis Capaldi

Best Live Act sponsored by Xpo North
Indigo Velvet
The Van T’s
Oskar Braves

Best Metal sponsored by Cathouse Glasgow
Sithu Aye