Young fathersTHE nominees for this year’s AIM Independent Music Awards have been announced.

Demonstrating the wealth of great independent music that is afforded to us in the modern era, the shortlists for each category feature a who’s-who of tremendous talent both established and burgeoning.

Leading up the pack are artists such as Scotland’s own Young Fathers alongside Australian punk Courtney Barnett and the ethereal FKA Twigs who’ve all received an impressive three nominations between all categories.

Other coveted prizes at the event include the ‘Label Of The Year’ award which is being vied for between outlets such as Transgressive, Heavenly and Erased Tapes among others.

Held at The Brewery in Clerkenwell on the 8th September 2015 and hosted by XFM’s John Kennedy and Radio 1’s Alice Levine, the full list of categories and their respective nominees is as follows:

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services)

Basick Records
Erased Tapes Records
High Focus Records
Planet Mu Records
Rocket Girl

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM)

Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color
Holly Herndon – Platform
Nadine Shah – Fast Food
The 2 Bears – The Night is Young
Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music)

Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame
Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Inside the Pleasuredome
Bjork – Coloured Vinyl Catalogue Reissue
The Pretty Things – Bouquets From a Cloudy Sky
Imogen Heap – Sparks (Deluxe Boxset)
Oasis (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Reissue

Hardest Working Band or Artist 

Courtney Barnett
Little Comets
Young Fathers

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY)

Barn On The Farm
Brainchild Festival
Pete The Monkey
Truck Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

Courtney Barnett
FKA twigs
Run The Jewels
Songhoy Blues
Wolf Alice

Indie Champion (in association with CI)

Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
Marc Riley, BBC 6Music
Peter Guy, Getintothis
Rupert Morrison, The Drift Record Shop
Tim Burgess, Songwriter & O Genesis Music Ltd

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo)

Alt-J – Hunger Of The Pine
Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me
Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me
Ibeyi – River
Son Lux – Change Is Everything

Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniels, voted for by visitors to Songkick)

All Time Low
To Kill a King
Twin Atlantic

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify)

Alt-J – Every Other Freckle
Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian at Best
FKA twigs – Two Weeks
Jamie XX – Loud Places
LA Priest – Oino
Major Lazer – Lean On
Mogwai – Teenage Exorcists
Neck Deep – Can’t Kick Up The Roots
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love
Wiley – On A Level

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act

FKA twigs
Ward Thomas

Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans)

Bjork – Vulnicura
Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep
Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear
Ghostpoet – Shedding Skin
Jme – Integrity>
The Bug – Angels & Devils
The Charlatans – Modern Nature
The Xcerts – There Is Only You
Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool
Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital)

Epitaph Records
Erased Tapes Records
Heavenly Recordings
Planet Mu Records
Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard) 

Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award (in association with Promostream) 

Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)