psychedelic group Animal Collective have released ‘Lying in the Grass’, the second track from their upcoming tenth album Painting With, due to be released later this month.

‘Lying in the Grass’ starts with a distinctly strange-sounding synth note that continues for the entirety of the song, as other elements such as percussion, vocals, piano, brass and woodwind are added in succession before everything comes together for a chaotic track ending.

The track is classic Animal Collective: deliberately weird and unpredictable without being to the point of over-zealousness. ‘Lying in the Grass’ comes across as effortless and never tries too hard. Along with previous single ‘FloriDaDa’, it bodes well for the forthcoming Painting With.

Their new album shall be released on the 19th February via Domino.

Check out the track below: