Admiral Fallow

JUDGES of The Scottish Album of the Year have released the final shortlist of the ten artists in the running for the award.

The records that have made the shortlist includes Admiral Fallow’s Tree Bursts In Snow, Django Django’s self-titled album and The Twilight Sad’s No One Can Ever Know.

Social networks have blown up with outrage that Emeli Sandé and Calvin Harris have not made the cut, despite making the longlist for their albums last month.

Speaking about the award, chair of the independent panel of judges, Glasgow Academic, John Williamson, said: “Although there was a strong longlist including  some hugely commercially successful albums, the ten chosen for the short list  are those that best reflect the range of music made by Scottish artists in 2012.  It includes debut albums and ones by people who have been making music for  thirty years; solo albums and collaborative projects; genres from folk music to  hip-hop. It is perhaps a measure of the collective quality that it is hard to  see an obvious winner from the ten.”

An overall winner of the SAY Award will be announced on 20th June at Barrowlands  Ballroom in Glasgow.

The SAY Award Shortlist:

Admiral Fallow  – Tree Bursts In Snow
Django Django – Django Django
Human Don’t Be  Angry – Human Don’t Be Angry
Karine Polwart – Traces
Lau – Race The  Loser
Meursault – Something For The Weakened
Paul Buchanan – Mid  Air
RM Hubbert – Thirteen Lost & Found
Stanley Odd – Reject
The Twilight Sad – No One Can Ever Know