FRANZ Ferdinand have returned with a brand new single called ‘Billy Goodbye’. The track will feature on the Scottish outfit’s upcoming compilation, ‘Hits to the Head’, out 11th March 2022 via Domino.

The song is one of two new songs on the compilation – the other being ‘Curious’ – both produced by Alex Kapranos, Julian Corrie and Stuart Price (Dua Lipa, Madonna, Pet Shop Boys).

‘Billy Goodbye’ finds Franz Ferdinand in familiar territory – a vibrant blend of power-pop choruses, intelligent art-rock flourishes and retro flare.

In a statement, Kapranos spoke about selecting the tracklist for Hits to the Head, as well as the underrated beauty of greatest hits collections. “It’s the same as writing a set-list for a festival: you want to play the songs you know people want to hear. The hits. Bring the hits to the head. The heart. The feet. That means obvious singles, but also songs you know have a special meaning for both band and audience like ‘Outsiders.’ We also added two new songs, recorded last year: ‘Billy Goodbye’ and ‘Curious,’ both co-produced at the last stage with Stuart Price. I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a ‘real’ fan if you own a best of rather than a discography. I disagree. I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had ‘Changes’ or ‘Rolled Gold’. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.”

Check out the video and full track-listing below.

Hits to the Head Tracklist

1. “Darts of Pleasure”
2. “Take Me Out”
3. “The Dark of the Matinée”
4. “Michael”
5. “This Fire”
6. “Do You Want To”
7. “Walk Away”
8. “The Fallen”
9. “Outsiders”
10. “Lucid Dreams”
11. “Ulysses”
12. “No You Girls”
13. “Right Action”
14. “Evil Eye”
15. “Love Illumination”
16. “Stand on the Horizon”
17. “Always Ascending”
18. “Glimpse of Love”
19. “Curious”
20. “Billy Goodbye”