FOLLOWING months of rumours and teasing interviews, Scottish indie veterans Franz Ferdinand have confirmed their long awaited return with the announcement of a brand new album and UK tour.

The band’s fifth album will be titled Always Ascending and is slated to arrive on 9th February 2018. Recorded with French producer Philippe Zdar (Phoenix, Beastie Boys, Cassius), it is their first since 2013’s acclaimed Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions with frontman Alex Kapranos describing it as being “simultaneously futuristic and naturalistic”,

Along with the announcement of its release, the band have shared the album’s synth-heavy title track. Said to be “quite representative of the whole album”, the experimental track sees Kapranos croon over a wispy piano melody before coming to life with a delectably funky chorus and onslaught of synths. The first new song to be heard from the band since they added Julian Corrie (aka Miaoux Miaoux) and Dino Bardot, it is clear that Always Ascending marks an exciting new era for Franz Ferdinand.

Fans will be pleased to know that the band will also be heading out on tour in support of the forthcoming album. Starting off Galway in Ireland, Kapranos and co will take in the likes of Manchester, Newcastle, Leeds and London aswell as a huge homecoming show at Glasgow’s O2 Academy on Saturday 17th February. Tickets go on sale on Friday 3rd November at 9am.

Check out the new track and tour dates below.

10 February     Galway, Ireland     Leisureland
11 February     Dublin, Ireland     Olympia Theatre
13 February    Manchester        Albert Hall
14 February    Nottingham        Rock City
16 February    Newcastle        02 Academy
17 February    Glasgow        02 Academy
19 February    Leeds            02 Academy
20 February    Birmingham        02 Academy
21 February    Bristol            02 Academy
23 February    Cambridge        Corn Exchange
24 February    London        02 Brixton Academy