THE Mercury Prize announces 2020 shortlist including Scottish artist and previous Scottish Album of the Year winner Anna Meredith plus

The Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ celebrate and promote the best of British music recognising artistic achievement across a range of contemporary music genres. The shortlist was chosen by an independent judging panel and was revealed on Lauren Laverne’s show on BBC Radio 6 Music from 10.30am to 11.30am on Thursday 23 July. The albums were announced one-by-one and there were interviews with some of the shortlisted artists.

The 2020 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ are:

Anna Meredith ‘FIBS‘

Charli XCX ‘how i’m feeling now‘

Dua Lipa ‘Future Nostalgia‘

Georgia ‘Seeking Thrills‘

Kano ‘Hoodies All Summer‘

Lanterns on the Lake ‘Spook the Herd‘

Laura Marling ‘Song for Our Daughter‘

Michael Kiwanuka ‘KIWANUKA‘

Moses Boyd ‘Dark Matter‘

Porridge Radio ‘Every Bad‘

Sports Team ‘Deep Down Happy‘

Stormzy ‘Heavy is the Head‘

The judges said ‘In these difficult and uncertain times the Hyundai Mercury Prize is proud to celebrate the remarkable power of music to inspire and exhilarate. The albums on the 2020 shortlist showcase a great diversity of sounds, styles, ambitions and experience. What these albums share is an irresistible urgency, a belief that their music matters more than ever.’

The announcement of the winner will be paid on 24th September 2020.