Villagers, photographed in Paris by Mark nixon

TODAY the Mercury Prize shortlist has been revealed; Arctic Monkeys, Jake Bugg, Foals, David Bowie, Jon Hopkins and Villagers amongst the nominees.

The shortlist is regularly scrutinized by music fans who debate the credibility of the bands added to the shortlist and mourn for the ones who were not.

The £20,000 prize will be awarded to the winning band for their nominated record at the end of October 2013.

Last year’s shortlist saw the likes of Django Django, Ben Howard, Plan B and The Maccabees meet the grade with their releases. But it was Alt-J’s An Awesome Wave that scooped the prize.

The full list of nominees-

Rudimental – Home

Foals- Holy Fire

Jon Hopkins – Immunity

Jake Bugg – Jake Bugg

Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon

Villagers – Awayland

David Bowie- The Next Day

Savages – Silence Yourself

Disclosure – Settle

Laura Marling – Once I was an Eagle

James Blake- Overgrown

Arctic Monkeys – AM