SALUTE MUSIC MAKERS have struck a new deal with the renowned Unsigned Music Awards.

Having launched last month with a revolutionary platform for budding artists and an unprecedented £50,000 cash prize for the eventual winner, the new competition which seeks to uplift the nation’s greatest talent have announced that the victor will be nominated in the Best Songwriter Category at next year’s much anticipated ceremony.

Destined to provide even more exposure to the winner, Salute Music Makers intend to enrich the lives of every entrant due to their previously announced deal with PRS For Music that will ensure any entrant is paid for their music being streamed on the service.

Among the pioneers behind this new venture, The Undertones’ frontman Feargal Sharkey has stated that:
British music can justifiably claim to conquer the world but that incredible success is built upon one thing, talent. In an age of television static and bewildering musical consumer choice, it is now more important than ever that we give the right, focused support and opportunity to the next generation of great British talent. Salute is set to make that happen.”

The competition is open now and can be applied for via Salute’s official site and the listening phase of the process will begin in earnest on the 19th June.

Watch footage from their launch event featuring interviews with Feargal Sharkey, Neon Waltz, The Mac Twins and more below: