THE longlist for this year’s SAY Award has officially been revealed.

In a special event held at King Tut’s in Glasgow last night, the 20-strong list was announced featuring a myriad of established names and debut records from some of the country’s best burgeoning talent.

Among the twenty artists in the running for £20,000 prize are Young Fathers, Franz Ferdinand, Mogwai, Martha Ffion and Siobhan Wilson. Covering a whole array of genres, also included are Tenement Trail alumni Catholic Action, The Spook School, Neon Waltz and The Spook School.

Robert Kilpatrick, General Manager, Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA), said: “This year’s Longlist celebrates another 20 incredibly strong, diverse and important contemporary Scottish records.”

“It was great to reveal these tonight at King Tut’s in Glasgow, to an audience featuring artists, industry and music fans from across the country. The announcement was set to a backdrop of incredible live performances from previously nominated acts, and we were delighted to be raising money for our Charity Partner Help Musicians Scotland.”

“On behalf of the Scottish Music Industry Association, I’d like to congratulate all of this year’s Longlisted artists on fantastic album releases.”

Creative Schotland’s head of music Alan Morrison highlighted its impact on new artists, saying: “It is encouraging to see so many debut and second albums on this year’s list – a recognition of the fantastic new generation of talent that’s pouring out of Scotland,” he added. “This award is also a vindication for independent labels whose releases continue to overshadow the majors when it comes to sheer quality of music“.

A panel of 100 judges will select nine artists for the shortlist which will be announced on 23rd August, with the 10th being decided by public vote. The winner will be announced on 6 September in a ceremony at Paisley town hall.

Now in its seventh year, previous SAY Award winners include Sacred Paws, Young Fathers and Kathryn Joseph.

See the full list below.

1. Adam Holmes and The Embers – Midnight Milk
2. BABE – Kiss & Tell
3. Best Girl Athlete – Best Girl Athlete
4. Blue Rose Code – The Water of Leith
5. Catholic Action – In Memory Of
6. Chris Stout and Catriona McKay – Bare Knuckle
7. Elephant Sessions – All We Have Is Now
8. Franz Ferdinand – Always Ascending
9. Golden Teacher – No Luscious Life
10. Happy Meals (now known as Free Love) – Full Ashram Devotional Ceremony (Volumes IV – VI)
11. Karine Polwart with Pippa Murphy – A Pocket Of Wind Resistance
12. Kobi Onyame – Gold
13. Martha Ffion – Sunday Best
14. Mogwai – Every Country’s Sun
15. Neon Waltz – Strange Hymns
16. Out Lines – Conflats
17. Pronto Mama – Any Joy
18. Siobhan Wilson – There Are No Saints
19. The Spook School – Could It Be Different
20. Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar