THE Scottish Alternative Music Awards have revealed their full list of 2020 nominees.

The 11th edition of the awards ceremony will move online this year and will take place at 6.30pm on Wednesday 18th November via a new partnership with leading live streaming platform Twitch. Hosted by Jim Gellatly and Leyla Josephine, the ceremony will include live performances from Walt Disco and 2020 Scottish Album of the Year winner Nova.

This year’s shortlist of nominees was put together by a group of specialist nominators, all working in different areas across the music industry. The categories include Best Acoustic, Best Rock/Alternative, Best Electronic, Best Hip-Hop, Best Metal, Best Live and Best Newcomer. Check out the full list of nominees below.

A three-day public vote will open on Monday 9th November on the SAMA website, with the winners announced live on Twitch on 18th November.

Tickets for the virtual ceremony are available via Eventbrite and include an option to donate to leading music charity Help Musicians Scotland, with funds to be invested back into supporting Scottish musicians.

Continuing to shine a light on new Scottish music from across genres, Creative Scotland’s Jamie Houston said of the event “:The number of bands and artists to emerge from Scotland every year never fails to astonish. Behind the curtain of the mainstream is a world of talent which demands widespread attention. Thanks to National Lottery players, Creative Scotland is once again able to support the SAMA to celebrate voices and talent from Scotland’s burgeoning hip-hop, grime and metal scenes, as well as electronic, indie and pop.”

The 2020 SAMA nominations are:

Best Acoustic (sponsored by BTO BeCreative)
Bobby Kakouris
Fair Mothers
Jenny Sturgeon
Man of the Minch

Best Electronic (sponsored by citizenM hotels)
Lady Neptune
Pleasure Pool
Tommy Perman

Best Hip Hop (sponsored by Help Musicians Scotland)
India Ros3
Louis Seivwright

Best Live Act (sponsored by Musicians Union)
Callum Easter
Free Love
Kapil Seshasayee
Still House Plants

Best Metal (sponsored by Hard Rock Cafe Glasgow)
Bleed From Within
King Witch

Best Newcomer (sponsored by The Academy of Music & Sound)
Nathan Somevi

Best Rock/Alternative (sponsored by Rock Rose Gin)
Dead Pony
Pleasure Heads