ffs jools hollandTHE next Jools Holland episode in the series aired on BBC last night featuring live performances from FFS – the collaboration between Franz Ferdinand and LA duo Sparks, Alabama Shakes, Brooklyn-based indie-country trio the Lone Bellow, Tobias Jesso Jr, The Unthanks and Shaun Escoffery.

FFS first talked about joining forces around the time of Franz’s debut in 2004 – but it’s taken until now for them to record an album together. Returning to the show following their 2012 debut were US band Alabama Shakes who have just released their second record Sound & Color, which reached the number one spot in the UK Vinyl Album Chart. 

Canadian singer-songwriter Tobias Jesso Jr made his UK TV debut on this week’s show, with tunes from his acclaimed debut album Goon. Northumberland chamber folk group The Unthanks performed tracks from Mount the Air, their first studio album in four years.

Completing the line-up was English soul and R&B singer Shaun Escoffery, making his Later debut with tracks from In the Red Room.

Watch the live performances for the acts on last night’s show below:

FFS – Johnny Delusional 

Alabama Skaes – Don’t Wanna Fight 

Tobias Jesso Jr – Without You

The Lone Bellow – Then Came The Morning 

Shaun Escoffery – People 

The Unthanks – Magpie