Indoor Foxes ‘Plant Pot Song’

Written alongside the creative mind of Ross Leighton (Fatherson), ‘Plant Pot Song’ is formed by honest lyricism, crunchy guitars and an infectious chorus. Released through Glasgow’s Bold Cut Records, the track is the first offering from the singer/songwriter in over a year – an anthem truly worth the wait.

Produced by Jamie Holmes, Indoor Foxes addresses feelings of girlhood in her music and lyrically navigates her experience of it, “I like to be able to rage at pain and not shy away from that. We get to be angry when we’re hurt, and we get to be afraid. I like addressing these perceived humiliations in some way…I still feel a bit like a little girl on the inside a lot, making loud guitar-forward music gives me that freedom to be a truly angry young woman.”

A performance at La Belle Angele courtesy of Wide Days on Friday 3rd May tops a successful release week for Indoor Foxes, where listeners can expect to see a fast rise from the Glasgow-based hitmaker moving forward.

No Windows ‘Point Nemo’ 

Edinburgh-based duo No Windows have shared their second EP ‘Point Nemo’ via Fat Possum Records. Taking its name from the location farthest away from land in the world, the five-track EP explores isolation and personal growth in its delicately crafted arrangements – channelling the likes of Elliott Smith, Cocteau Twins, Cloth and more in their gently expansive sound. A significant step forward for the duo, it’s a wholly immersive and affecting listen.

Theo Bleak ‘Heaven.wav’ 

Opening her account for 2024, Theo Bleak has shared an EP of demos titled ‘Heaven.wav’. Written, recorded and mixed by the singer-songwriter from home, it’s her most stripped back collection to date – imbued with a striking vulnerability and delicate intimacy. Like a diary entry, we are made privy to her innermost thoughts – fragile, emotive, bittersweet, cathartic and hopeful – which, against a light instrumental, makes for deeply affecting and moving listen.

Font ‘Hey Kekule’ 

Austin quintet Font have shared ‘Hey Kekule’ along with the announcement of their debut album ‘Strange Burden’. Channelling the dance-inspired post-punk spirit of noughties New York, as well as the layered process of Brian Eno and Talking Heads, there’s an incredible spontaneity to the track – driven by stabbing pianos, big snares and theatrical vocals. It’s muscular, erratic, oozing with groove and instantly addictive.

Soft Play ‘Act Violently’ 

Soft Play, the duo formerly known as Slaves, have announced their first new album since changing their name. ‘Heavy Jelly’ will arrive on 19th July and is being previewed by the searing ‘Act Violently’ – a track that sees the vent their frustrations about reckless e-scooter drivers. It’s a typical acerbic, searing punk screamer from the pair.

86TVs ‘Tambourine’ 

86TVs is the new project from The Maccabees’ Hugo and Felix White and they’ve just announced their self-titled debut album. The full-length follows on from their debut EP ‘You Don’t Have To Be Yourself Right Now’, and is set for release on 2nd August. They’ve also shared new single ‘Tambourine’ – a huge anthemic number that runs in at less than two minutes.

Will says: “‘Tambourine’ was the first song we started working on as a band. It was written one summer when lots of people I knew were entering their thirties – a friend described their Dad as a ‘human tambourine’ and it all found its way into that song. It’s two minutes long, the most succinct and direct thing we’ve put out yet.”

Tune in to the full playlist here.