Unknown MOrtal Orchestra

The band: Unknown Mortal Orchestra arrived in a haze of mystery and obscurity back in 2010, when their song ‘Ffunny Ffriends’ grabbed the music world’s interest. Since then they have released two hugely successful albums, and have now announced their third, Multi-Love, which will be released this year.

The sound: Our first taste of the album comes in the form of the titular track. As lo-fi and DIY sounding as ever, ‘Multi-Love’ takes a the listener through a skittish variety of sounds, both percussive and electronic. Singer and guitarist Ruban Nielson posted on their website talking about his excitement for the new album: “I’m not going to say too much about the album right now because I want you to hear some music first but if you’re anywhere near as excited about this as I am we’re going to have a party this year.”

The lowdown: Multi-Love will be released on the 26th May via Jagjaguwar, and you can check out the track-listing below. They will also be setting off on a huge tour that includes 5 dates in the UK, with the 6 Music Festival in Newcastle on the 22nd February the first of them.

Track-listing for album

1. Multi-Love
2. Like Acid Rain
3. Ur Life One Night
4. Can’t Keep Checking My Phone
5. Extreme Wealth and Casual Cruelty
6. The World Is Crowded
7. Stage or Screen
8. Necessary Evil
9. Puzzles