THE Scottish Alternative Music Awards have revealed their 2020 winners.

The 11th edition of the awards took place online last night, streamed globally via Twitch. Radio presenter and DJ Jim Gellatly hosted the evening’s proceedings alongside spoken word artist and theatre maker Leyla Josephine, with performances from Glasgow quintet Walt Disco and 2020 SAY Award winner Nova.

Shining a light on Scotland’s best new musical talent and an eclectic range of artists, this year’s winners included former Tenement Trail acts, electronic newcomers and a double win for the first time in the award’s history. Following the three-day public ballot receiving over 10 000 votes, the 2020 SAMA winners are:

Best Acoustic sponsored by BTO BeCreative – Jenny Sturgeon

Best Electronic sponsored by citizenM hotels – TAAHLIAH 

Best Hip Hop sponsored by Help Musicians Scotland – India Rose

Best Live Act sponsored by Musicians Union – Callum Easter

Best Metal sponsored by Hard Rock Cafe Glasgow  – Saor

Best Rock/Alternative sponsored by Rock Rose Gin – Fauves 

Best Newcomer sponsored by The Academy of Music & Sound – TAAHLIAH

TAAHLIAH, winner of the Best Newcomer and Best Electronic awards said: “I’m delighted to have won! Especially, winning twice. It is a real honour to be the first black trans artist to win, but I know and hope I will not be the last. It means a lot to be recognised so highly, so early on my career as an artist.

You can rewatch the ceremony on Youtube via this link.